The Hearts of Amberley series

Welcome to Amberley, a small village in rural Shropshire, England. Escape into the early Regency period, and find yourself drawn into the lives and romances of diverse characters you'll love.
The Vagabond Vicar
Book One: The Vagabond Vicar
The Vagabond Vicar

Available now!

"I am completely, unabashedly in love with this book."
"Just marvellously done."
"You won't be disappointed."
"Completely romantic, completely enchanting... pure entertainment."
"The best book I have read in a long time."

Love is the greatest adventure of all.

Vicar William Brook is biding his time in the small village of Amberley, desperate for a missionary posting overseas. He hadn’t counted on being captivated by Cecilia Grant, a free-spirited artist, who challenges him at every turn.

Cecilia is destined to marry a local aristocrat – or at least that’s what her mother thinks. But the darkly handsome new vicar seems to understand her in a way no one ever has, and she finds herself drawn to him even as he holds her at arm’s length.

As their relationship blossoms, dark secrets are revealed in Amberley and a scandal from William’s past may see the end of both his career and their love. 

Click through for an excerpt, reviews, and information on where to buy.

Add Gloved Heart on GoodreadsBook Two: Gloved Heart
Available now!

"A different take on historical romance, both fresh and full of heart, this one is a true reading treasure chest gem!"
"Gloved Heart had me hooked by the first few pages. This lovely romance set in regency times is perfect for fans of this genre. I adored this story."
"This is a beautiful, romantic & charming novel. 5 stars"
"A gorgeous, sweet Regency Romance I absolutely adored!"
"This is an adorable, heartwarming regency romance that will truly make you smile. I absolutely loved this book."

Can she ever trust again?

Amy Miller is struggling to come to terms with her new life as a mother, while being a reluctant guest in a rigid gentry household. A victim of abuse, she is determined to never trust a man again.

Henry Russell has loved Amy for as long as he can remember, but his family want nothing to do with her. A chance encounter with Amy rekindles a friendship which might save both of them.

The discovery of a secret which holds the key to Amy’s past will change them forever, and jeopardise any chance they have for happiness. Can Henry show Amy that true love will give her everything she could ever need?

Click through for an excerpt, reviews, and information on where to buy.

Book Three: Heart of a Gentleman
Heart of a Gentleman: A Regency Romance (Hearts of Amberley Book 3)

Available now!

"A deeply romantic and inspiring tale."
"An amazing story of love, pain, and redemption!"
"The characters were truly endearing and the story riveting."
"The author explores the feelings of her characters with depth and sensitivity. The story of heiress at risk of losing all is not unusual, but this story has unexpected twists that kept me interested to the end."
"It's very difficult to take a character readers despise in a previous book and turn them into someone you sympathise with and root for. This was very well done!"
"Enjoyed the first two books in this series, but absolutely loved the third!"

Can love conquer his past?

John Barrington is a man haunted by his past deeds. Following a life marked by tragedy and self-imposed isolation, he is quite sure he is unlovable. Now banished to an unknown village, he has no intention of forming ties. Except perhaps with his neighbour, the owner of the grand estate of Willowbridge. When he finally meets the man, he’s sure he’ll be able to enjoy more of the lifestyle he is used to.

Enter Lady Helena Davenport, the heiress of Willowbridge – as long as she fulfils certain conditions laid out in her father’s will. She is devoted to the people of Mulberry and serves them with unwavering enthusiasm. Her first impressions of John are far from ideal, and despite her attraction to him she points out his flaws and challenges him to act as an honourable gentleman ought.

At first John is offended by this dressing down, but then with Helena’s influence he begins to reform himself into the kind of man he always should have been. As trials beset Helena, and Willowbridge slips from her grasp, can John step up and become the hero she needs – both to save her estate and win her heart? And will he finally face up to what he has done, and sacrifice his future in order to make amends?

Q. Do I need to read the books in order?
A. While you can read each book as a standalone, you are likely to get more enjoyment from reading them in order.

Q. Are there any more books coming?
A. Yes, I have many, many ideas for more books! Whether they are written in published partly depends on you, the reader. Please let me know if you enjoyed these books, and if you'd like to read more! Leaving a review and recommending the books to your friends also helps to ensure I can keep writing.

Q. Are these books sweet, clean or inspirational?
A. The best classification is probably "sweet", as while there is only kissing, there are some subjects and language that aren't necessarily "clean". They are not in the inspirational category as there is no religious content (excepting some mention of William's experiences as a vicar in book one).

Q. Who would these books appeal to?
A. If you love reading Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer, and you love watching Downton Abbey or Victoria, you'll love these books! These novels delve deep into the main characters, revealing their secrets and foibles as they find their way to love. If you only want dukes and steamy love scenes... these aren't the books for you.

Charlotte Brentwood's books on Goodreads